On Making Some Changes…

Well looky here. The blog has moved! I’ve been a loyal Blogger user since 2009, and decided it was time to move the blog considering a lot has changed in my life since the last time it was updated.

For example, I moved to the Capital Region of New York and got a new job and now live with my dude and our two cats.

It’s hard to believe that just five months ago I thought I would never get out of New York and never push my career further.

It started in April when I came up here for a wedding and happened to schedule an interview the following Monday. A week later I was offered the job. A week after that I was in LA, working at my last ASCAP EXPO. And a week after that I moved everything I had to the capital of New York.

It was a whirlwind to say the least. But I’ve never been happier. Gone are the days of soul-crushing anxiety, not knowing what to do next or how to make my goals a reality. No more saying good bye on Sundays and feeling like the worst cat owner ever for leaving the little guy alone for a weekend. Good riddance to taking the train to work and having strangers invade my personal space on a regular basis. And to running through Central Park and weaving in and out of clueless pedestrians and dangerous cyclists.

My life involves a lot more smiling and laughing and nights of good sleep. It involves seeing my family and friends more often despite the physical distance between us. Oh, and I have money again!

It’s strange to think of how I so wanted to live in New York City throughout high school and college. And then I actually did it…and two and a half years later I was ready to run from it and never look back. But I suppose your wants and needs change as you get older. Back then I wanted to live a life that made others jealous. A life that said, “Look at what I’m doing. I bet you could make a movie out of this.” And now, I want a life that feels comfortable and stable with more room for adventure. I can honestly say that I have that too. I don’t need a glamorous city or apartment or job to be happy. I just need to be around people that I love and be able to take care of myself without struggle, and still be able to go after what I want. Some might see it as settling, but I don’t.

I think our hopes in high school and college – pre-real-world, if you will – are like a slab of marble. They’re huge, they’re not defined, and they seem impossible to deal with or achieve. You go out into the real world with this slab and it’s difficult as hell to get around with it, so you start whittling it down and really forming it into something that fits for you. I think I’m at the point now where I’m ready to show this sculpture off.

My life may not seem perfect or ideal to others, but it suits me just fine. I really would not have it any other way. Let’s see where these new changes take this blog…

Leave a Reply

