On the New Year….

I’m really awful at making New Year’s resolutions. Usually they turn out to be some half-assed commitments that I don’t care about that much, or I just resolve to lose weight or something else cliché. I didn’t even try this year, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. After looking back on 2014, I was able to achieve some big goals and I think for 2015 I would be better off focusing on making small, everyday improvements in my life that would make me a better person overall. Before I get into that, I’d like to go over the best things that happened to me in 2014:

I left a job when I got too comfortable

Leaving my job in New York was hard. I had over two years of experience in the position, everyone was familiar with my work ethic and the type of results I could produce, and really, the marketing department in which I worked had become a second family. However, I knew that staying there any longer wouldn’t result in a raise or promotion and it was time to move on to something new that help me move up. I’m pretty proud of myself for recognizing that it was time to leave rather than stay in my comfort zone. I took a pretty huge leap of faith and it leads me to my next thing…

I moved to the Capital Region

This one was a long time coming. I accepted a job in the area and was finally (after over four years of doing the long-distance thing) able to move in with my dude. I couldn’t be happier about this. We now live in a great apartment that’s affordable and feels more like a home than just a place we’re renting. After eight months we still haven’t figured out how to get our cats to love each other, but I haven’t given up on that yet.

I lost my job

I know this probably doesn’t seem like an amazing thing to happen, and when it happened I was shocked. I’ve always been a star student and a valued employee and when I was let go it didn’t seem real. I wasn’t upset about losing the job I had – truth be told, I was overqualified for it and it made my brain feel like mush by the end of the week – but I had wanted to leave on my own and I was incredibly pissed that I wasn’t able to. That being said, having all the time in the world to do networking in the area and go to interviews was so helpful. After three weeks of being unemployed, I found a job in a new industry that would allow me to use my writing skills (and maybe a little social media as well!), that pays more and is closer to my house. Losing my job was really a blessing in disguise. Plus, as a family member pointed out to me, I now have some perspective on jobs. I thought my job in the city was too demanding for what it paid, but I was ignoring the positive things about it, like being able to help people everyday, having the feeling of constantly being busy and contributing to the department, and being surrounded by helpful people who cared about me. My first job here will forever teach me that things can always be worse.

There are many other great things that happened in 2014 – my new nephew was born, my sister-in-love and my best friend got engaged – but these were the biggest teaching moments for me.

As for 2015, I’d like to focus on helping others more. Two-thousand fourteen was the year to focus on myself and get to a place both physically and mentally where I could be the best version of me. I’m pretty sure that I came pretty close to accomplishing that. This year I want to make sure I can help others do the same. I don’t have a specific thing in mind to help me do so, but I think if I constantly keep that goal in the back of my mind, I’ll be able to recognize the opportunities.

I hope everyone else had a great 2014 and has big plans in store for 2015! Maybe I’ll make a point to update my blog more as well with this new year 🙂

Leave a Reply

