On What I’m Reading and Other Curiosities…

One of the habits I’m trying to incorporate into my everyday life is reading for an hour a day. When I lived in New York City, I devoured books by reading them on the train to and from work. It made the commutes so much better – I would create my own little world with my headphones on while reading a book. Now having to drive to work (which is great, don’t get me wrong), my reading time isn’t as obvious, and so I’ve carved out time before bed to live through some new worlds and characters. Reading before bed was supposed to help relax my mind and prevent me from looking at my phone until I fall asleep…but I definitely still look at my phone nearly every night. Looks like I’ll be adding another “bad habit” to my app.

Anyhow, a book I started reading back in NYC, oh so long ago, is Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami. It was a lovely distraction while commuting between Queens and Manhattan, and then it got away from me when I moved up north. I picked it up again this week and it’s just as good as I remember.

If you haven’t read Murakami and love surreal situations and settings, then please, PLEASE, procure a copy of one of his works at your earliest convenience. So far I’ve read The Wind Up Bird Chronicle and Norwegian Wood, and I loved the first and wasn’t crazy about the second. HBW has given me so much more of that first book that I loved, but I can’t predict where it’s going based on my previous experiences with Murakami.

This book is also the first in a challenge I’ve accepted via Pinterest (yes, I know I’m really basic). It’s a “26 Books to read in 2015” challenge that was posted by another blog, Bringing Up Burns. I haven’t checked out their original post about it yet, but I intend to do so.

This challenge was appealing to me especially since I went from reading dozens of books a year to not picking them up for months. To some, 26 books is easy, and it might be to me with this hour before bed set aside for reading. If I can get through at least 26 books this year, I can no longer say things like, “I love reading, I just don’t have any time for it.”

And then perhaps I’ll stop using that excuse for other things that I love to do but “don’t have time for.” Most of us think we’re too busy for things, but I believe it’s because we’re too lazy to make the time for it. I’m incredibly guilty of this. For example, I love to run but I’ve hardly done it at all since Thanksgiving. A lot of this is due to my stubbornness when it comes to running in sub-freezing weather and not wanting to pull a muscle or have burning lungs all day, but until recently I didn’t even make time for workouts that would help me run even better when I was ready to hit the pavement again. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you take the time to schedule these things out.

Hey, maybe you’ll even revive your blog and write in it for three consecutive days! I hope you all take some time in your days to do something good for you, and something that you love.

Leave a Reply

