On How I Wish My Days Began…

In a perfect world, each of my mornings would go a little something like this…

I would wake up bright-eyed when my alarm sounds at 6:00am. I wouldn’t have to hit snooze even once. From there, I would go for a run or get in a little half hour workout, then hit the shower. I would proceed to have a cup of coffee and a healthy, filling breakfast; one of those enviable avocado toasts and all-natural yogurt parfaits that lifestyle bloggers post on Instagram. Upon finishing my breakfast, which would be eaten while reading the Skimm and catching up on social media, I would put on the outfit I had set out the night before and engage in some mindful meditation. This would be exactly what I needed to start my day and get to work early.

If only. Here’s a little bit of what actually happens…

My alarm goes off at 6:30am and I hit snooze about 15 times. I then look at my phone and realize I have a mere 45 minutes to get ready. This involves a 10 minute shower, followed by me hurrying downstairs to wolf down a bowl of cereal. If I’m really cutting it close I have to resort to bringing my breakfast to work with me. I throw on an outfit that involves zero creativity; usually some dress pants and a sweater or a dress if I REALLY don’t want to put anything together. Before running out the door I pour myself a to-go cup of coffee that I usually wait a little too long to drink, which has forced me to like lukewarm coffee.

For as long as I can I remember, I have been a night owl and not a morning person. My parents needed to give me multiple reminders to wake up during high school, and I would easily sleep until noon on the weekends. This improved slightly in college; I never missed an 8am class. That being said, I opted for my days to start with 10am classes whenever possible. The one thing about living in New York City that agreed with me was the later start to the day. Most of us walked into work between 9:30am and 10am.

Even as I have continued to mature into adulthood, my night owl ways have persisted and I have yet to become one of those people who isn’t phased by the morning. I keep a consistent bedtime and have established a fairly regular nighttime routine. I try to read before falling asleep to ease my mind for a restful night of sleep. I set an alarm for the morning with plenty of time to get ready when I actually wake up at the appropriate time.

And yet, waking up in the morning is still not something that comes easily to me. I so badly want to be that person that wakes up early enough in the morning to get in a run before work, but as that alarm goes off, my bed pulls me in deeper and my eyelids slowly fall as my hand hits snooze once again.

Each day I work to attain this ideal morning routine. Something about the idea of achieving it makes me feel like I would be a better person as a result, but perhaps deep down I know better than that. Each time I drift back to sleep and hit snooze, it’s like my body is saying, “nine more minutes, you know nothing will change.”

And perhaps there are bigger priorities to focus on. While my mornings may be hectic, my nights are where I feel most productive and relaxed. The serenity of a night run can match that of an early morning run. Producing a blog entry to unwind after a day of work tends to beat a morning of social media catch up for me.

The world is full of checks and balances. We need morning people and night people. And while I believe change is good when it moves you forward, my night owl ways continue to serve me well.

 

 

One thought on “On How I Wish My Days Began…”

Leave a Reply

