On Small Victories and Moving Forward…

As we’ve established, planning ahead is difficult right now. I have no idea what I will or won’t be able to do in three months, if I’ll be at home or in the office, or when I’ll be able to visit family again.

So the focus is on short-term goals, virtual events, and mindfulness. Something that’s helped me do this is becoming a member of The Lounge community through Girls’ Night In.

I subscribed to this newsletter about two year ago and loved its theme of staying in, taking care, and leaning into your introvertedness. Of course at that time, I had no idea that I would do this every day. I loved the articles shared in the newsletters, the book recommendations, the sense of community I felt just from reading it.

And when they launched The Lounge, I didn’t hesitate to join the waitlist. I finally got my invitation about a month ago, and the community has been such a nice refuge. I’ve joined virtual gatherings to build gingerbread houses, dove into their Slack community, and even made a new local friend!

The biggest thing I’m looking forward to this week is the Buffalo Bills playoff game, but the thing I’m most excited for second to that is the Yoga and Meditation virtual gathering I signed up for though The Lounge. I can’t wait to really unwind with this new community and learn more about how I can incorporate more meditation into my life.

These small goals that are attainable and doable and won’t be cancelled keep me moving forward. They keep me feeling productive and like I’m not wasting my time because of the virus. While I’m hoping I can keep making bigger plans in 2021, for now these little ones will do just fine.

Leave a comment